Deadline: March 15, 2021

The Sunshine-Wong Annual Meeting Travel award was established in order to provide an opportunity for students and bench level technicians to attend the annual conference. The $1,000 travel award is provided to offset the winner’s travel and housing expenses for the meeting, the meeting registration, and one year of membership. The award winner must present a poster and/or a platform presentation at the meeting. 

Applicants for this award must be technologists/technicians working in a laboratory in the disciplines of Toxicology and/or Therapeutic Drug Monitoring or students working toward an undergraduate or graduate degree in Toxicology and/or Therapeutic Drug Monitoring or a related field.

The applicant must submit the completed application and an abstract describing the poster and/or presentation. The application deadline is March 15, 2021 and the MATT Executive Board will determine the winner by mid-March. The annual meeting is held in April or May.

Applications may be submitted by email or fax to the current MATT President. Please see the executive committee page for contact information.

Complete the registration form ยป

Sunshine-Wong MATT Travel Award Recipients

  • Kansas City 2020 Deon Turner, Western Michigan University, “Another Piece to the Puzzle of Sample Handling: Evaluation of Preanalytical Homogenization on Postmortem Blood Specimens”
  • Cleveland 2019 – Sarah Boyle, Biomedical Forensic Sciences, Boston University School of Medicine, “Comparison of Liquid-Liquid Extraction and Solid Phase Extraction for the Analysis and Quantitation of THC, Synthetic Cannabinoids, and Their Metabolites for LC-MS/MS Detection in Human Whole Blood”
  • Indianapolis 2018 – Cassandra Clyde, “Fentalog Epidemic in Northeast Ohio; LC-MS/MS Method Development and 2016-2017 Statistics from Postmortem and Impaired Driving Cases”
  • Rosemont 2017 – Kraig E. Strayer, Wright State University, “Development of a LC-MS/MS-Based Method for the Multiplex Detection of Fentanyl Analogs in Biological Matrices at Sub ng/mL Concentrations”
  • St. Louis 2016 – Xin Xu, Cuyahoga County Coroner’s Office, “Analysis of Amphetamines in Whole Blood Using SLE and LC/MS/MS”
  • Lexington 2015 – Jeremy Day, Marshfield Clinic, “Novel Method for Extraction of Methylphenidate and Ritalinic acid in Urine by SPE and GC/MS”
  • Detroit 2014 – Szabolcs Sofalvi, Cuyahoga County Medical Examiner’s Office “Applied Measurement Uncertainty in Forensic Toxicology”
  • Cleveland 2013 – Rachel Hamilton, Hamilton County Coroner’s Office
    “AED Drugs by Solid Phase Extraction in Post Mortem Cases”
  • Oakbrook 2012 – Theresa Swift, William Beaumont Hospital
    “The Development of an Economical, Scalable Purification Scheme for Monoclonal Mouse IgM Antibody”
  • Toledo 2011 – Bradley Holden, Western Slope Labs
    “A Simple HPLC-UV method for the Analysis of Creatinine and a Comparison to the Jaffe Method”
  • Milwaukee 2010 – Mark Vandervest, Michigan State Police
    “Determination and Confirmation of Identity of an Unidentified Peak in a Blood Alcohol Chromatogram”